Seeking Home Care Led to a Second Look at a Surviving Spouse’s VA Benefits
Seeking Home Care Led to a Second Look at a Surviving Spouse’s VA Benefits
When Mrs. C. came to Veterans Care Coordination (VCC) with her daughter, the goal was straightforward: find a way to help pay for the home care Mrs. C. needed so she could remain at home.
What followed was a nine-month wait for a VA decision, a review of an earlier denied claim from 2017 and a retroactive payment of over $200,000.00 in Dependency and Indemnity Compensation (DIC).
Mrs. C.’s experience shows how complicated the VA benefits process can become for older Veterans and surviving spouses—and how guidance through that process can help families understand their options and recognize when additional questions may need to be addressed.
A Need for Home Care Leads to a VA Benefits Application
When Mrs. C. became a VCC client, her family was seeking help with the cost of home care, and she applied for VA Pension with Aid & Attendance (PwAA).
While Mrs. C. waited for the VA to make a decision, her need for care did not go away. Her VA application remained pending for approximately nine months. During that time, VCC covered the cost of Mrs. C.’s home care, allowing her services to continue while her family waited for a decision.
A Question About Another VA Benefit
As Client Care Representative Jennifer Hayes worked with Mrs. C. and became familiar with the details of her case, she recognized that another VA benefit should be considered.
Mrs. C. was the surviving spouse of a Veteran who had served in the Republic of Vietnam. Based on the information available about Mr. C.’s military service and circumstances surrounding his death, Jennifer anticipated that Mrs. C. could potentially receive Dependency and Indemnity Compensation, commonly known as DIC.
DIC is a VA benefit that may be available to certain surviving spouses when a Veteran dies from a service-connected injury or illness. VA also recognizes certain circumstances involving diseases associated with Agent Orange exposure. The VA is the only one who can make the determination about whether a claimant receives a VA benefit.
The VA Revisits a Claim From 2017
As the VA processed Mrs. C.’s new application, the Department of Veterans Affairs sent a letter acknowledging delays and provided information about an earlier claim. Mrs. C. had originally applied for DIC on June 3, 2017. That claim was denied on July 20, 2017.
During the subsequent review, the VA determined that the 2017 DIC claim had not been properly reviewed based on Mr. C.’s service in the Republic of Vietnam and potential Agent Orange exposure. The result was significant. The VA awarded Mrs. C. retroactive DIC benefits dating back to her 2017 claim, totaling over $200,000.
The family used part of that amount to reimburse VCC for the home care expenses that VCC had covered on Mrs. C.’s behalf starting in November 2025. The VA ultimately decided that Dependency and Indemnity Compensation (DIC) was the appropriate benefit for Mrs. C., instead of continuing with her Pension with Aid & Attendance application.
The Benefit Changed, but the Need for Care Did Not
Receiving DIC did not change Mrs. C.’s need for home care. Jennifer spoke with the client’s daughter about the funds and clarified that the DIC benefit did not restrict how Mrs. C. could use the money. The client’s daughter decided to continue her mother’s existing home care services through the current agency and asked VCC to continue coordinating her care.
Mrs. C. therefore continued using VCC’s care coordination services even though she was no longer going to receive care through the Pension with Aid & Attendance program. For the family, the focus remained the same: keeping Mrs. C. at home with the care she needed and a company to help coordinate it all.
Navigating VA Benefits Can Be Complicated
Mrs. C.’s experience illustrates how difficult it can be for older Veterans and surviving spouses to navigate the VA benefits process on their own.
A family may be dealing with applications, medical documentation, military records, previous VA decisions and multiple benefit programs at the same time. For someone who is already managing the challenges that come with aging and needing care, the process can feel overwhelming.
VCC helps families understand the process, navigate the paperwork and recognize questions that may warrant further attention.
VCC does not make VA benefit decisions, determine whether someone receives a benefit or replaces the Department of Veterans Affairs. The VA makes those decisions. What VCC provides is guidance and support throughout the process.
Having Someone in Your Corner
VCC Founder and CEO Kyle Laramie said reviewing VA decisions and helping families understand what happens next is an important part of guiding clients through the process.
Kyle emphasizes that Mrs. C.’s experience highlights the importance of having access to knowledgeable resources when navigating the complexities of VA benefits.
“The VA benefits system can be difficult for veterans and their families to understand,” Kyle explained. “Much like individuals who seek professional guidance when navigating complex financial or tax matters, veterans and their surviving spouses should have access to reliable information, education, and resources to help them make informed decisions. Understanding available benefits, eligibility requirements, and the overall process can make a meaningful difference for families.”
Kyle also acknowledged the significant volume of cases handled by the VA and the challenges families may encounter when trying to understand benefit determinations.
“Families often don’t know what questions to ask, what resources are available, or where to turn when something doesn’t seem right,” Kyle said. “At VCC, we believe education and awareness are essential. Our goal is to help families better understand the benefits landscape, recognize when additional assistance may be needed, and connect with the appropriate resources.”
For Veterans and their families, having someone who understands the process can provide guidance when paperwork, requirements, and decisions become overwhelming and difficult to navigate.
From a Home Care Question to a Major VA Benefits Discovery
Mrs. C. originally came to VCC because she needed home care and her family wanted to understand how they could afford it. Her experience demonstrates why surviving spouses should not assume that a benefit is unavailable simply because a previous VA claim was denied or because many years have passed since their spouse’s military service.
VA benefits involve different programs with different requirements. For Mrs. C., seeking help with the cost of home care ultimately led the VA to revisit a much older claim.
